

State of Utah

GARY R. HERBERT Governor

SPENCER J. COX Lieutenant Governor

Department of Environmental Quality

Amanda Smith Executive Director

DIVISION OF SOLID AND HAZARDOUS WASTE Scott T. Anderson Director Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board Kevin Murray, Chair Dennis Riding, Vice-Chair Eugene Cole, DrPH Jeff Coombs, MPH, LEHS Mark Franc Brett Mickelson Amanda Smith Shane Whitney Dwayne Woolley Scott T. Anderson *Executive Secretary*

September 8, 2014

Vern Rogers Acting Manager, Permitting and Compliance EnergySolutions, LLC 423 South 300 West, Suite 200 Salt Lake City, Utah 84101

RE: Depleted Uranium Performance Assessment (DUPA) Request for Extension Compliance Report, Condition 35 DRC Radioactive Materials License # 2300249

Dear Mr. Rogers:

The Department of Environmental Quality has completed its evaluation of the DUPA extension request dated September 2, 2014. It is agreed that a more thorough evaluation of "Deep Time" issues, coupled with a resolution of the tri-party Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) governing the long-term stewardship of the proposed Federal cell, among other outstanding topics, will be beneficial and add clarity before the start of the public comment period. The request for extension is hereby approved.

However, the Department believes that it is not in the best interest of the public to start the public comment period so close to the holiday season. In order to maximize public participation, the plan is to start the public comment period on January 12, 2015, with public meetings scheduled in Tooele and Salt Lake City during the week of February 2, 2015, and end the public comment period on February 27, 2015.

If you have any questions, please call me at (801) 536-0215.

Sincerety

[~] Helge Gabert, Project Manager, DU Contract Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste

HG /STA/tjm

(Over)

195 North 1950 West • Salt Lake City, UT Mailing Address: P.O. Box 144880 • Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4880 Telephone (801) 536-0200 • Fax (801) 536-0222 • T.D.D. (801) 536-4414 www.deq.utah.gov Printed on 100% recycled paper c: Rusty Lundberg, Director, DRC

Myron Bateman, EHS, MPA, Health Officer, Tooele County Health Department Jeff Coombs, EHS, Environmental Health Director, Tooele County Health Department

2